Tag Archives: World Soundtrack Awards

World Soundtrack Awards 2021: Daniel Pemberton, Nicholas Britell, Benji Merrison + More Take Home Wins!

Photo: Jeroen Willems.

The World Soundtrack Awards held its ceremony last weekend and here are the winners: Congratulations goes out to Daniel Pemberton, who was honored with the Composer of the Year Award  for his work on The Trial of the Chicago 7, Enola Holmes, and Rising Phoenix. Also in the winner’s circle this year are Nicholas Britell, who won Best Original Song for “Call me Cruella,” (shared with Florence Welch, Steph Jones, Jordan Powers and Taura Stinson), and Composer Benji Merrison (SAS: Rise of the Black Swan) on his Public Choice Award win! 

View the full winner’s list and acceptance speeches below or read the full recap at WSA online!  Congratulations to all the winners and nominees this year!

Continue reading World Soundtrack Awards 2021: Daniel Pemberton, Nicholas Britell, Benji Merrison + More Take Home Wins!

World Soundtrack Awards 2021: Public Choice Award Longlist Announced!

WSA 2021 Public Choice Awards Longlist

Here’s your chance to help your favorite composers land a World Soundtrack Awards “Public Choice Award” nomination!  This year, 10 of Lakeshore Records partners have found themselves long-listed for this year’s Public Choice Awards, and you have the power to get them nominated.  Only five nominees will be announced in September.  Head over to the World Soundtrack Awards website and cast your vote (voting ends August 15).  Will you vote for Peter Baert (The Water Man), Kris Bowers (The United States vs. Billie Holiday), Tara Busch (Jakob’s Wife), John Debney (Come Away, Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey), Abel Korzeniowski (The Courier), Clint Mansell (Rebecca), Benji Merrison (SAS: Red Notice), Johan Söderqvist (The Last Vermeer), or Amelia Warner (Wild Mountain Thyme)?

See the full list at the WSA website.  The World Soundtrack Awards will take place on October 23, 2021, in Ghent, Belgium.  


Continue reading World Soundtrack Awards 2021: Public Choice Award Longlist Announced!

Johann Johannsson Named Composer of the Year : World Soundtrack Awards:

Johann Johannsson | Photo credit: Jonatan Gretarsson

The World Soundtrack Awards in Ghent Belgium has awarded Johann Johannsson the Composer of the Year Award, in recognition of his outstanding work on his compositions in the past year including Mandy, his final score.  This is the second consecutive year that Johann has won Composer of the Year at the World Soundtrack Awards.  Congratulations to all the winners and nominees this year!  

RELATED: About the Johann Johannsson Foundation

Collaborator Hildur Guðnadóttir accepts the posthumous award on behalf of Johann Johannsson and his family:

Composers Bear McCreary And Ben Lovett Receive Prestigious WSA Discovery Of The Year Nominations!

The Boy Soundtrack, Synchronicity Soundtrack

Lakeshore Records congratulates Bear McCreary (10 Cloverfield Lane, The Boy), and Ben Lovett (Synchronicity) on their World Soundtrack Awards Discovery Of The Year nominations!

The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who have scored not more than six feature films (commercially released in theatres) in total. Besides receiving the award, the winner will perform at the 17th WSAwards in 2017.  Congrats to all the nominees this year!

The 16th World Soundtrack Awards Gala will be held Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at Capitole Ghent. Central guests attending include Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jeff Beal, Jeff Russo, Sean Callery, John Lunn, Alex Heffes, Daniel Pemberton and many more!

Tickets available at: worldsoundtrackawards.com and sherpa.be.

[madmimi id=2]

Academy Award® Nominee Carter Burwell And Emmy Award® Nominee Mac Quayle Among 2016 World Soundtrack Awards Nominees!


The prestigious annual World Soundtrack Awards is around the corner, and there’s no time like the present to cast your vote on Film Composer of the Year! The World Soundtrack Awards just announced this year’s nominees for Best Film Composer, Best TV Composer and Best Original Song!  See below for the list.

Go to World Soundtrack Awards online here to vote in the WSA Public Choice Award for your favorite Lakeshore Records soundtracks!

Carter Burwell (Anomalisa, Hail Caesar!, Legend, The Family Fang, The Finest Hours) – Best Film Composer

Carter Burwell & Charlie Kaufman, Performed by Tom Noonan: “None Of Them Are You” from Anomalisa – Best Original Song written directly for a Film

Mac Quayle (The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story, American Horror Story, Mr. Robot) – Best TV Composer

The winners will be announced at the World Soundtrack Awards & concert on Wednesday, October 19, the closing night of the Ghent International Film Festival.  See the full list at Film Music Reporter!

[madmimi id=2]