Tag Archives: Sam Levinson

New Soundtracks: ‘Assassination Nation’ Vinyl, ‘The Biggest Little Farm’ + More!

This week, we’re thrilled to be releasing Ian Hultquist’s sought-after vinyl album to Assassination Nation and Jeff Beal’s latest score on Lakeshore Records, The Biggest Little Farm! Plus, scroll down to pre-order Dan The Automator’s score to Booksmart – headed your way in a couple of weeks!

Continue reading New Soundtracks: ‘Assassination Nation’ Vinyl, ‘The Biggest Little Farm’ + More!

Premiere: Assassination Nation Vinyl Artwork Revealed! | Slash Film

The sure-to-be-cult-film Assassination Nation burned up the festival circuit last year before hitting theaters in September 2018. One key element to the film was the electronic film score courtesy of former Passion Pitt keyboardist Ian Hulquist. – Chris Evangelista, Slash Film

America: you asked for it! The good folks over at Slash Film have the exclusive premiere of the Assassination Nation – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack vinyl, featuring score by Ian Hultquist! The former Passion Pit band member is also known for scores to other feature films, such as A-X-L and Animals, released on Lakeshore Records.  Check out the full spread now at Slash Films.

The vinyl album is available on or around May 10, 2019 via Lakeshore Records, but you can pre-order now: [Webshop]

Assassination Nation (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – ‘Raincoat Red’ Vinyl – Ian Hultquist

* Doublewide Album Sleeve
* Includes the songs ‘Rage by Isabella “Machine“ Summers, ‘Brat’ by  Abra and ‘We Can’t Stop’ by Jackson State University Marching Band, The “Sonic Boom of the South”

The score is by Passion Pitt’s’s former keyboard player and synthesist Ian Hultquist.  It plays big on screen throughout the entire second half of the film, including extended sequences where it’s set to screen images for minutes at a time. This is the first truly contemporary electronic film score in some time that does not seek to duplicate the Stranger Things retro esthetic. Assassination Nation creates its own new and fresh contemporary electronic score that is both modern and very accessible to non-filmscore audiences in the same way that It Follows and Under The Skin did.


Side A
01. Mayor Bartlett
02. #FAIL
03. The Life & Texts of Principal Turrell
04.  Internet Trolls
05. I’m Not the Monster You Think I Am
06. Half of Salem
07. Slay’em High Killa
08. A Star is Born
09. Assassination Nation

Side B
10. Blow Us a Kiss
11. Take Salem Back
12. Marty’s Confession
13. Home Invasion
14. On the Run

Side C
15. Kiss Me
16. Be Gentle
17. Crimson
18. The Shootout
19. Surrender
20. Rally Ur F_cking Crew

Side D
21. Trigger (Bonus Track)
22. Rage – Isabella “Machine“ Summers
23. Brat  – Abra
24. We Can’t Stop – Jackson State University Marching Band, The “Sonic Boom of the South”


NEON presents ASSASSINATION NATION, available now on Blu-ray/DVD (get it here) and Digital (get it here).

‘Assassination Nation’ By Ian Hultquist Makes Film Music Magazine’s Best Film Scores of 2018 List!

An enjoyably evil, bonkers spin on “The Scarlet Letter” gets exactly the tripped out sound of social media maniacs it deserves from former Passion Pit front man Ian Hultquist for “Assassination Nation” – Film Music Magazine

Film music critic Daniel Schweiger has published his list of the Best Scores of 2018 at Film Music Magazine, featuring Assassination Nation – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack by Ian Hultquist!  The Sam Levinson-directed Assassination Nation film is described as “One of the smartest, most perceptive commentaries on a contemporary society distorted and magnified by online hysteria…” (The Observer UK).   Ian previously released scores to AXL and Animals on Lakeshore Records.  See Daniel Schweiger’s full Best Scores list at Film Music Magazine.

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download / Listen]


Neon presents ASSASSINATION NATION, available now on Digital (rent it on iTunes) and coming December 18 on Blu-ray and DVD (pre-order here).


Song Premiere: Listen To ‘I’m Not The Monster You Think I Am’ By Ian Hultquist From Assassination Nation Soundtrack! | Mandatory

Listen to the cue from Assassination Nation soundtrack, “I’m Not The Monster You Think I Am” now at Mandatory!  The track premiere also features an interview with composer Ian Hultquist who speaks about being influenced by Isabella Summers (of Florence + The Machine) on this soundtrack and what it was like to collaborate with Director Sam Levinson.  The film is now playing in theaters and the soundtrack is out now via Lakeshore Records!

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Listen]

RELATED: Listen To “Slay ‘Em High Killa”

NEON presents ASSASSINATION NATION, now playing in theaters (get tickets).

Assassination Nation Soundtrack: Listen To ‘Slay ‘Em High Killa’ By Ian Hultquist, Join His Reddit AMA!

Hultquist takes an orchestral, synthwave composition and alters his track to a striking effect which seems to flow poignantly with the satirical horror film Sam Levinson directed. – Flaunt

“It’s the demon spawn of Heathers and The Purge” – New York Times

Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack to Sam Levinson’s (The Wizard of Lies, ) new film, Assassination Nation, featuring score by Ian Hultquist (AXL, Animals). Starring Odessa Young, Hari Nef, Suki Waterhouse, and ABRA, Assassination Nation opens in theaters Friday, September 21. Listen to the debut track, “Slay ‘Em High Killa” exclusively now at Flaunt Magazine!

Join Composer Ian Hultquist on his Reddit AMA on Tuesday, September 25 (3 PM PT/6PM ET) and get your Assassination Nation questions ready for him!

NEON presents ASSASSINATION NATION, in theaters Friday, September 21 (get tickets).

Continue reading Assassination Nation Soundtrack: Listen To ‘Slay ‘Em High Killa’ By Ian Hultquist, Join His Reddit AMA!