Nicholas Britell Is Breakthrough Composer of the Year, ‘The Nice Guys’ Is Best Score For Comedy Film | Filmic

We don’t always find out how members of the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) cast their IFMCA Awards votes, but IFMCA member Ley Bricknell of Filmic has released her picks of the best talent and film/television music releases for 2016 in her own Filmic Music Awards.  Among those topping her list are Nicholas Britell (Moonlight) as Breakthrough Composer of the Year and The Nice Guys (John Ottman and David Buckley) for Best Original Score for a Comedy Film.  See the breakdown below and the full  list at Filmic.  Thanks, Ley, and congrats to all the nominees this year!  The IFMCA Awards will be held on February 23.

Breakthrough Composer of the Year

Nicholas Britell – Winner
Simon Franglen
Justin Hurwitz
E Dylan
Daniel Belardinelli

Britell is on the up with scores such as Free State of Jones and Moonlight…


Best Original Score for a Comedy Film

The Nice Guys – John Ottman and David Buckley – Winner
Dad’s Army – Charlie Mole
Tordenskold & Kold – Henrik Skram
Eddie The Eagle – Matthew Margeson
Swiss Army Man

Anyone who can near perfect score a soundtrack to match the scores of the 70’s is OK in my book.



[madmimi id=2]
Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.
Subscribe and Follow: