All posts by Film Music Daily Staff

Lakeshore Records Innovates Soundtracks with Cutting Edge | Variety (Exclusive)

Variety’s Jon Burlingame reports on how Lakeshore Records innovates soundtrack and score album releases in its new partnership with the Cutting Edge Group.

Read the full story at Variety (here).

Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

!EXCLUSIVE! A Simple Favor ‘French Pop’ Vinyl Exclusively at Urban Outfitters! Pre-Order Now!

A Simple Favor is directed by Paul Feig (Bridesmaids, The Heat). This modern neo-noir follows a mommy blogger as she investigates the disappearance of her rich, mysterious best friend from their small town. The soundtrack sets the mood with a French noir sound with contributions from Françoise Hardy, Brigitte Bardot and Serge Gainsbourg. Film Opens in Theaters this Friday September 14th.


SRLP $28.98
* Limited Edition Vinyl Pressing
* Single Disc Pressed on Opaque Red Vinyl
* 450 Copies Only – Worldwide – UO Exclusive
* Includes Die-Cut Printed Inner Sleeve

A Simple Favor (OriginalMotion Picture Soundtrack) Various Artists

Side A
01. Ca S’Est Arrangé – Jean Paul Keller
02. Comment Te Dire Adieu – Françoise Hardy
03. Les Passants – Zaz
04. La Madrague – Brigitte Bardot
05. Laisse Tomber Les Filles – France Gall

Side B
06. Le Cactus – Jacques Dutronc
07. Bonnie And Clyde – Brigitte Bardot & Serge Gainsbourg
08. Une Histoire de Plage – Brigitte Bardot
09. Changement – Orelsan
10. Laisse Tomber Les Filles – No Small Children


Drive: Revisiting Cliff Martinez’s Classic Film Score!

As we anticipate the release of Hotel Artemis we look back at the classic Cliff Martinez score the to Nicolas Winding Refn film, Drive!

There is an excellent overview of the Drive Soundtrack by Vehlinggo titled, “Drive Soundtrack: Revisiting The Neon Noir Masterpiece”.

The film and album were celebrated with a special fifth year anniversary release of a limited edition vinyl pressing.

MANDY: From Cannes With Love, Praise For Jóhann Jóhannsson Score

Mandy has been playing festivals from Sundance to Cannes with rave reviews and much love for the score by the late, beloved composer Jóhann Jóhannsson who has left us far to soon.

The Panos Cosmatos’ action-thriller is set for release later this year by RLJE Films. The film stars Nicolas Cage and Andrea Riseborough.

“The late Jóhann Jóhannsson’s epic-sounding, metal-tinged score make Mandy feel as if it’s taking place outside of time, dwelling in its own nightmarish realm in which frightening supernatural creatures coexist with their human counterparts.” –

It also features the final completed score by the Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannson, which drifts between sighing, swelling synths and apocalyptic thunder-crashes of electric guitar. It is outstanding – arguably the film’s very soul – though you wouldn’t want to listen before bed. –

The late Jóhann Jóhannsson’s synthesiser-heavy score and Benjamin Loeb’s colour-saturated cinematography delivers the promise of every great painted 1980s VHS box cover.  – The