Mr. Malcolm’s List: Amelia Warner Debuts Her Film Score To The Regency Era Drama!

Lakeshore Records has released Mr. Malcolm’s List—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack featuring music by award-winning neo-classical composer Amelia Warner (Wild Mountain Thyme), available now digitally.  Warner is adept at creating timeless sounding scores for films with expansive stories and for this historical drama, she balances gravitas and grandeur with playful, energetic cues.

“The score, by Amelia Warner, announces when to titter and when to swoon. In its cleverest flourish, it accompanies the ladies’ marital campaigns with a rollicking military march.” – New York Times

The Bleecker Street film directed by Emma Holly Jones and starring Freida Pinto Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù and Zawe Ashton exclusively in theaters on July 1st.


When she fails to meet an item on his list of requirements for a bride, Julia Thistlewaite (Zawe Ashton) is jilted by London’s most eligible bachelor, Mr. Malcolm (Ṣọpẹ́ Dìrísù). Feeling humiliated and
determined to exact revenge, she convinces her friend Selina Dalton (Freida Pinto) to play the role of his ideal match. Soon, Mr. Malcolm wonders whether he’s found the perfect woman…or the perfect hoax.

Says Warner: “I had an incredible time working on Mr. Malcom’s List and was so inspired and excited by Emma’s vision for the film. We wanted the music to feel classic and timeless. We hoped that it would ground the story and give the film weight and grandeur. I really enjoyed playing around with textures, using shimmering harmonics and woodwind trills to create a fizziness and energy. I wanted there to be a fun playfulness and mischief to the score which was achieved with characterful and expressive woodwind. I also wanted the score to feel romantic and sweeping and have hopefully achieved that with the main love theme for Malcom and Selina. I wanted this theme to feel like it was glowing and sparkling surrounding it with magical glittering harmonics and flute trills.”

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Stream]

Track List:
01. Overture
02. Quite The Reputation
03. Selina
04. Malcolm and Selina
05. A Plan is Hatched
06. Arriving at Hadley Hall
07. A Gift of Friendship?
08. A Trustworthy Gentleman
09. Selina Arrives in London
10. Julia Discovered
11. Croquet
12. The First Meeting
13. A Forgiving Nature
14. Proposal
15. Oh Henry
16. Heartbreak
17. Julia and Selena Make Up
18. The Chase

Breakthrough neo-classical composer Amelia Warner is best known for her stunning soundtrack for the 2018 Irish-American film ‘Mary Shelley’, directed by Haifaa al-Mansour and starring Elle Fanning. It won Amelia the ‘Breakthrough Composer of The Year’ at the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) Awards in 2019, and a nomination in the ‘Discovery of the Year’ category at the World Soundtrack Awards.
Warner’s score for John Patrick Shanley’s ‘Wild Mountain Thyme,’ which also featured an original song “I’ll Be Singing” co-written by Warner and Shanley and performed by Sinead O’Connor, received nominations with the Hollywood Music in Media Awards and recognition as a nominee for the ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards. In 2022, she also wrote a contemporary classical score for the period romantic comedy ‘Mr. Malcolm’s List’, in which her love theme was used to choreograph and film a grandiose ballroom scene in the film.
Growing up in west London’s Notting Hill, Amelia loved to play piano in her family home. Although resisting traditional classical training, she would constantly invent melodies, and her first proper composition, at 15, was for a school soap-opera project. It would be many years before anyone heard Amelia’s evocative instrumental compositions. Her first career was as an actress, following in her mother Annette Ekblom’s footsteps. She knew she wanted to be part of the filmmaking and storytelling process, but quickly realized she was on the wrong side of it.

Her debut major scoring project was the British short film ‘Mam’ which won several awards on the film-festival circuit and led to her first feature-film composition, for 2016’s ‘Mum’s List’, starring Rafe Spall and Emilia Fox.
Warner has also released three solo classical albums to date—the most recent EP ‘Haven,’ was released in summer 2020. The home-inspired ‘Haven’ was coincidentally released at a time when home was the epicenter for people thrown into months of lockdown in the midst of the global pandemic. Her previous solo EP ‘Visitors’ (2017) followed her debut EP ‘Arms’ (2015). Warner’s three EP releases have all reached #1 classical album on the iTunes chart. 

Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.
Subscribe and Follow: