Candy: Score By Ariel Marx Releases Globally, Miniseries Starring Jessica Biel and Melanie Lynskey Now Streaming on Hulu

“Ariel Marx taps into heightened emotions of deeply complex women.” – Deadline

Lakeshore Records has released Candy–Original Series Soundtrack, featuring original music by Ariel Marx (Shiva Baby, The Tale).  Marx, known for creating provocative soundscapes with both traditional and non-traditional instrumentation and performing techniques, creates a distinctive series of backdrops that range from brightly engaging to unnervingly dark, often within the same track.  Keep reading to view the album listening links and more.

The limited series from UCP, a division of Universal Studio Group and 20th Television, one of the Disney Television Studios, stars Jessica Biel, Melanie Lynskey, Timothy Simons, Pablo Schreiber, and Raúl Esparza. All episodes of CANDY are now available to stream on Hulu.


Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Stream]

Track List:
01. Main Titles
02. Parable
03. Be Really Honest
04. I Hit Her
05. Check All the Locks
06. The Affair
07. You Can’t Have Him
08. Diffy
09. Forty-One Blows
10. Suburban Car Calculus
11. Don’t Go
12. She Hit Me
13. Crime Scene
14. Inept Criminal
15. Nonviolent Person
16. Settle Down
17. Oppressive Sameness
18. The Match
19. Found A Footprint
20. Witness Excused
21. Helpful as I Can
22. You Just Wait
23. Lost Spark
24. Candy’s Admission
25. Back to Normal
26. Crowder and Mattox
27. Some Maniac
28. Allan Suspects
29. The Day It Happened
30. Allan Breaks Down
31. Morbid Curiosity
32. It Was About 10 O’clock
33. A Fresh Start
34. Candy
35. The End


Candy Montgomery is a 1980 housewife and mother who did everything right—good husband, two kids, nice house, even the careful planning and execution of transgressions—but when the pressure of conformity builds within her, her actions scream for just a bit of freedom. With deadly results.

Says Marx: “Composing the score for ‘Candy’ was truly an incomparable dream. The show is deeply complex, and I was able to explore so many different aspects of these women’s lives with the score and palette — the desire for the perfect, balanced life, the oppressive sameness, the overwhelming loneliness, and inevitably — the unexpected and unimaginable violence. No stone went unturned, and I’m so grateful for the brilliant and bold that helped bring this show to life!”

An eclectic composer and multi-instrumentalist, Ariel Marx draws from many genres and often combines orchestral and rare instruments with electronics to create unique worlds of sound. Her scores have premiered in films at Sundance, TIFF, SXSW, Tribeca, Woodstock, Criterion Channel, as well as films and shows on Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, Peacock, FX, HBO, Mubi, Discovery+ and is a Sundance Film Music and Sound Design Lab fellow.
Most recently, Ariel released her first solo album Luthier with Node Records, and has scored the 5-part series for Hulu, Candy, starring Jessica Biel, Melanie Lynskey, Timothy Simons, Pablo Schreiber, and Raúl Esparza. She has also scored Episode 3 (Drive-In) of American Horror Stories on FX/Hulu, and Emma Seligman’s critically-acclaimed Shiva Baby (starring Rachel Sennot, Molly Gordon, Polly Draper, and Diana Agron), Netflix’s series My Love, as well Pedro Kos’ Rebel Hearts which premiered at the 2021 Sundance film festival premiered on Discovery+. Ariel has also scored Lindsay Gossling’s upcoming Thirteen Minutes (starring Paz Vega, Thora Birch Anne Heche and Amy Smart), Paul Shoulberg’s So Cold The River (starring Bethany Joy Lenz and Alysia Reiner), and Joe Sackett’s Homebody (starring Colby Minifie). She recently completed the score for the limited series for Amazon — Ted Bundy: Falling For A Killer, Matthew Balzer’s The Catch (starring Katia Winter , Bill Sage, James McMenamin, Kyle Gallner and Jere Burns), Ross Marks’ Walking With Herb (starring Edward James Olmos, George Lopez and Kathleen Quinlan) and co-composed the score for Edward James Olmos’ The Devil Has A Name, (starring David Strathairn, Kate Bosworth, Pablo Shreiber, Edward James Olmos, Alfred Molina, Martin Sheen, Haley Joel Osment, and Kate Asleton).
She also wrote the score for the Emmy nominated, Golden Globe nominated, and Independent Spirit Award nominated Sundance / HBO film The Tale, (directed by Jennifer Fox, and starring Laura Dern, Elizabeth Debicki, Jason Ritter, Ellen Burstyn, Common and John Heard ), the Independent Spirit Award nominated To Dust (directed by Shawn Snyder and starring Géza Röhrig and Matthew Broderick), which won the Best New Narrative Director and Narrative Audience Awards at the 2018 Tribeca Film Festival, Galt Niederhoffer’s 10 Things We Should Do Before We Break Up (starring Christina Ricci and Hamish Linklater), and Sarah Pirozek’s #LIKE (starring Sarah Rich and Marc Menchacha).


Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow: