Colette: Lakeshore Records and Electronic Arts Release Nami Melumad’s Score To Academy Award Winning Documentary!

Colette Score by Nami Melumad_600
Lakeshore Records and Electronic Arts (EA) have released Nami Melumad’s score to Academy Award®-winning film, Colette (“Best Documentary Short Subject 2021), directed by Anthony Giacchino!  This is the first Oscar win and nomination for a film produced by a video game studio ever.  An award-winning composer, Nami’s Colette score won the BMI Film Music Award at this year’s BMI Film & TV Awards. 
Colette is featured in the documentary gallery of the video game, Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond, also released by Lakeshore and EA.  In addition, Nami’s score to Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond also won Best Original Score (shared with Michael Giacchino) for a Video Game or Interactive Media at this year’s International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA) Awards.
Keep reading to listen to the soundtrack and access the Oscar-winning documentary, Colette!

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Listen]

Track List
01. Colette
02. Resistance Memories
03. It Should Have Been You
04. Block 7
05. The Tunnel
06. Tall And Handsome
07. You Couldn’t Give Up
08. Le Chant Des Partisans – Zoé Mojon-Doyard, Maxime Mojon-Doyard, Philomène Mojon-Doyard


As a young girl, Colette Marin-Catherine fought the Nazis as a member of the French Resistance. Since 1945, she has refused to set foot in Germany. That changes when a history student named Lucie enters her life and encourages her to visit the concentration camp where the Nazis killed her brother.
Colette, the Academy Award ® Winning Film (“Best Documentary Short Subject 2021) directed by Anthony Giacchino, was co-produced by Electronic Arts’ Respawn Entertainment and Facebook Oculus Studios and distributed by The Guardian where it is streaming worldwide.  The documentary is featured in Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond. This is the first Oscar-winning documentary produced by a gaming company and distributed by a news organization.
Notes Melumad on the making of the score and her personal connection to the work:
“In a documentary like this, which is already relatively heavy on emotion, the score needs to support the story without being overdramatic. My approach was to go sparse and only score the moments that could truly benefit from the emotional impact of music. Whenever possible, I tried to sonically blend with the sound of the film itself. For example, in the tunnel scene, a bass drum rumble sneaks in Colette and Lucie enter the darkness, and it’s almost like a horror scene once we’re inside. The visuals of the monstrous V-2 carcasses are so shocking that you can almost feel the heaviness of this scary metal and the screams this tunnel has heard. The score here focuses on the two extreme ranges- the high (dissonant strings), and the low (harp and piano strikes, basses), so the one can really feel the emptiness of the middle… this allows the viewer to experience the true heaviness of this moment without going melodramatic.
I was so honored to be part of this project. My great-grandma, Gertrud Pollack-Simons was murdered by the Nazis along with many other family members, so this film about resistance and remembrance hits close to home. “
Nami Melumad is an Israeli-Dutch film composer, based in Los Angeles, California. Her scoring credits include over 130 projects in a wide range of genres, most notably the HBO Max comedy An American Pickle starring Seth Rogen, the Amazon thriller-drama series Absentia with Stana Katic, and EA’s VR video game Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond. Nami recently scored the Oscar-winning documentary short, Colette, and contributed music and arrangements to Amazon’s hit, Borat Subsequent MovieFilm. Her score to the Emmy-nominated Star Trek episode, Shorts Treks: Q&A in, landed her the upcoming series Star Trek: Prodigy, making her the first female composer for the franchise.

Nominated for Breakthrough Composer of the Year (2020) by the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA), Nami won the IFMCA For Best Original Score for a Video Game for Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond, earned a Jerry Goldsmith Award Nomination for Over the Wall (2019), won the Hollywood Music in Media Awards for her work for Passage (2018), as well as Best Score for a Short at Fimucite for Luminarias (2017). She was also nominated for an HMMA for Miss Arizona (2018) and This Day Forward(2017). Her works have been performed by the Hollywood Chamber Orchestra, Haifa Symphony Orchestra, The Israel Sinfonietta Beer Sheva and Helix Collective Ensemble. An alumna of the ASCAP Film-Scoring Workshop, Nami graduated the Scoring for Motion Pictures and TV program at the University of Southern California. She holds a B.A. in multi-style composition from the Jerusalem Academy of Music, where she was admitted directly to her sophomore year. She is a board member of the Alliance for Women Film Composers.


Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow: