Dark: Cycle 1 Series Score By Ben Frost Is Coming July 28 Via Lakeshore Records & Invada Records

Lakeshore Records and Invada Records are set to release Dark: Cycle 1 (Original Music from the Netflix Original Series) featuring music by Australian experimental composer Ben Frost digitally on all platforms on June 28 with CD and vinyl versions forthcoming.

Frost’s repertoire includes solo and collaborative efforts that range from classical minimalism to punk rock and black metal.  For the surreal German supernatural thriller, Frost’s dynamic and ominous orchestrations provide a striking backdrop.

Lakeshore Records will release the album in the Americas and Invada Records will release the album in the rest of the world digitally on June 28 with CD and vinyl versions forthcoming.  Music to Season 2 will be released in July.  See the track list and more below.

Dark Season Two is now streaming on Netflix.

Dark on Facebook

Dark is set in a German town in present day where the disappearance of two young children exposes the double lives and fractured relationships among four families. The story takes on a supernatural twist that ties back to the same town in multiple time periods.

Says Frost: “Working in this strange and beautiful world of light and shadow has been a gift and an endless source of inspiration”.


Dark: Cycle 1 (Original Music From The Netflix Series)
Ben Frost

01. Alles Ist Miteinander Verbunden
02. Ein Mensch – Ein Schmetterling
03. Die Hölle Ist Leer, Alle Teufel Sind Hier
04. Tick Tack, Tick Tack
05. Warum Nicht Waldweg
06. Apokalypse
07. Kein DeLorean
08. Das Ist Nicht Mikkel
09. Eine Reise Durch Die Zeit
10. Ich kann die Vergangenheit Ändern
11. Gott Gib Mir Gelassenheit
12. Wo Ist Übergang

Ben Frost (born 1980) is an Australian composer and producer. He is based in Iceland. Frost composes minimalist, instrumental and experimental music, with influences ranging from classical minimalism to punk rock and black metal.

His albums include: Steel Wound (2003), School of Emotional Engineering (as part of the band School of Emotional Engineering) (2004), Theory of Machines (2007), By the Throat(2009), Sólaris (with Daníel Bjarnason) (2011), Aurora (2014), and The Centre Cannot Hold (2017). He has collaborated with contemporary dance companies Chunky Move, the Icelandic Dance Company and the British choreographer Wayne McGregor. He composed the music for Wayne McGregor’s 2010 work FAR. Frost co-composed with Daniel Bjarnason, Music for Solaris, which was inspired by both Stanislaw Lem’s original novel and the 1972 Tarkovsky film Solaris. Commissioned by Unsound Festival, it was performed by Frost, Bjarnason and Sinfonietta Cracovia. He composed the music for the films, Sleeping Beauty, the Icelandic drama The Deep and the 2015 British television series Fortitude. In 2012 he travelled to the Democratic Republic of Congo with Richard Mosse, along with Trevor Tweeten and John Holten, to score the sound for Mosse’s artwork The Enclave.

In 2013, in his first directorial role, he premiered a critically acclaimed music-theatre adaptation of the Iain Banks novel The Wasp Factory.

In 2017, he provided score for Netflix’s German supernatural thriller Dark and the film Super Dark Times, and premiered a new installation with Richard Mosse and Trevor Tweeten, entitled Incoming, at the Barbican Centre in London. 



Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow: