‘Star Trek: Discovery’ Chapter 2 Soundtrack Headed Your Way April 6! Score By Jeff Russo

Star Trek Discovery Chapter 2 Soundtrack - Jeff Russo

CBS Television Studios announced today the release of the second volume of original score from the CBS All Access series Star Trek: Discovery, which premiered in 2017. Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack digitally on April 6 and on CD May 25. The album features score by Emmy® Award-winning Composer Jeff Russo! The soundtrack will be available on LP later in the year.  Keep reading for more album details.

Pre-order The Album: [iTunes]

RELATED: Star Trek: Discovery Soundtrack Vinyl Coming Soon

All episodes of Star Trek: Discovery Season 1 now available on the CBS All Access app and via Amazon Channels (subscribe here).

Listen to Star Trek: Discovery Chapter 1 here:


Star Trek: Discovery (Original Series Soundtrack) [Chapter 2]
Jeff Russo

01. Burnham Take Over
02. I Can’t Rest Here
03. Dishonor Yourselves
04. Tell Me The Truth
05. The Rebels Haven’t Completed Their Evacuation
06. I’ll Take It From Here
07. Kasseelian Opera
08. The Lorca I Knew
09. 212 Days Of Torture
10. Biotoxins
11. Come In Discovery
12. Safe To Drop Out Of Warp
13. Lorca Is Finished
14. Coming Home
15. Initiating
16. Qo’noS Bar Source
17. Not A Lot Of Humans Here
18. I’m No Good
19. War Is Over
20. I’ve Never Been To Vulcan
21. Incoming Transmission
22. Theme From Star Trek (Discovery Episode 115 End Credits Version)

Russo shared his excitement about the progression of the music for the second chapter of STAR TREK: DISCOVERY. “As the story developed, the score needed to adapt,” said Russo. “The mirror universe storyline in episodes 10 through 13 created interesting possibilities for the score. For example, it allowed me to introduce new characters and geographical themes. Additionally, for the season one finale of STAR TREK DISCOVERY, I was able to include Alexander Courage’s iconic theme into the episode, as well as include the rerecording of the STAR TREK: THE ORIGINAL SERIES end credits for our finale end credits.”

“Grand, glorious, hopeful, heartbreaking, intimate, bittersweet, tense, soaring, surprising. Over 51 years, in its many iterations, there’s been no shortage of adjectives to describe the music of Star Trek,” said co-creator Alex Kurtzman. “On the other hand, the list of composers capable of capturing them all is short, and this is where Jeff Russo comes in. Jeff manages to hold each note in beautiful balance, evoking the nostalgia of Alexander Courage’s original theme while scoring Discovery with his own unique ear and heart. We’re lucky to have him, and we hope you’ll love his music as much as we do.”

STAR TREK: DISCOVERY follows the voyages of Starfleet on their missions to discover new worlds and new life forms, and one Starfleet officer who must learn that to truly understand all things alien, you must first understand yourself. The series features a new ship and new characters, while embracing the same ideology and hope for the future that inspired a generation of dreamers and doers.

STAR TREK: DISCOVERY’s cast includes Sonequa Martin-Green, Doug Jones, Jason Isaacs, Anthony Rapp, Michelle Yeoh, Shazad Latif, Mary Wiseman, Mary Chieffo, James Frain and more.

STAR TREK: DISCOVERY is produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Secret Hideout, Living Dead Guy Productions and Roddenberry Entertainment. Alex Kurtzman, Bryan Fuller, Heather Kadin, Gretchen J. Berg & Aaron Harberts, Akiva Goldsman, Rod Roddenberry and Trevor Roth serve as executive producers.

Two-time Grammy nominee and Emmy-winning composer Jeff Russo is at the top of his field, scoring varied and compelling music for television, film and video games. Russo won the Emmy and received two additional Emmy nominations for his thrilling and angst-producing score on FX’s Emmy and Golden Globe-winning series “Fargo.” Russo is currently scoring Mark Wahlberg’s action-thriller film, “Mile 22,” Starz’s “Counterpart,” starring J.K. Simmons, and season two of FX’s hit series, “Legion,” based on Marvel Comic’s “X-Men,” starring Dan Stevens and Aubrey Plaza. He recently completed the score for season one of CBS’s reimagining of the iconic cult-classic series “Star Trek: Discovery,” and also scored Starz’s “Power,” produced by Curtis Jackson “50 Cent.” In addition to film and television, Russo recently received a BAFTA nomination for Best Music for Annapurna Interactive’s video game, “What Remains of Edith Finch.”

Additionally, Russo scored HBO’s Golden Globe and Emmy-nominated series “The Night Of,” starring John Turturro, FX’s John Singleton series, “Snowfall,” and the Netflix original show, “Altered Carbon.” Russo also composed the music for Jon Avnet’s film “Three Christs,” starring Richard Gere, which premiered at the 2017 Toronto International Film Festival, and Craig Macneill’s film, “Lizzie,” starring Chloe Sevigny and Kristen Stewart, which premiered at the 2018 Sundance Film Festival.

Russo began his music career in 1990, after founding his rock band TONIC. The group quickly achieved great success and in 2003, received two Grammy nominations, one for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for “Take Me As I Am,” and one for “Best Rock Album.” The band was a great showcase for Russo’s guitar work and songwriting that allowed him to branch out and begin his solo career in producing and composing.

Beyond his recent success in composing, Russo created the iconic musical themes for series including Spike’s “Tut,” starring Ben Kingsley, and USA Network’s “Necessary Roughness,” starring Callie Thorne and John Stamos. Russo collaborated with Zoe Keating on both WGN’s “Manhattan” and A&E Network’s “The Returned.”

According to Variety Magazine, “Jeff Russo understands how music can affect an audience. When music is employed, he sees it as an enhancement to character development, and is careful to create music that subtly flows with the action and visuals of the scene.”

Russo has also composed music for the New York Ballet Company Cedar Lake Ensemble.

Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow: