Brigsby Bear Soundtrack: Score By David Wingo Debuts July 28

Brigsby Bear Soundtrack - David Wingo | Lakeshore Records

Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack to Brigsby Bear digitally on July 28, 2017. The album features the original score by David Wingo (Loving, Mud).  Written by Kevin Costello and Kyle Mooney and directed by Dave McCary, the film stars Kyle Mooney (“Saturday Night Live”, “Hello Ladies”), Claire Danes (“Homeland”), Mark Hamill (Star Wars: The Force Awakens), Greg Kinnear (Little Miss Sunshine), Matt Walsh (Office Christmas Party, “Comedy Bang! Bang!”) and Michaela Watkins (“Casual”, Enough Said).  See track list below.

“There was a lot of discussion as to how much the score should have in common with the kitschy ’80’s kid show music from BRIGSBY BEAR the show,” Wingo explained. “We always kept in mind that the score should for the most part be subjective to James’ experience and reflect his mental and emotional state, so it made a lot of sense that with his single-minded obsession with the show as well as the fact that it’s basically the only “culture” he was ever exposed to that if the music was to mirror him, then it needed to maybe share something in common with the Brigsby music.”

Sony Pictures Classics presents BRIGSBY BEAR in theaters on July 28, 2017. 

Brigsby Bear on Facebook

Brigsby Bear (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
David Wingo
01. Until Our Next Adventure
02. The Pier
03. James’ Life
04. Taken Away
05. New World
06. Reunited
07. The Movies
08. The Truth About Brigsby
09. Can Anyone Do It?
10. You’re My Friend
11. Hiking
12. Aubrey And James
13. Did It Look Cool?
14. Finding The Smile Sisters
15. He Needs Help
16. Escape
17. Want To Help Us Unpack?
18. Premiere
19. The End
20. It’s Brigsby Bear (Opening Theme) – Michael Montes

BRIGSBY BEAR Adventures is a children’s TV show produced for an audience of one, James (Kyle Mooney).  When the show abruptly ends, James’ life changes forever and he sets out to finish the story himself.


David Wingo got his start composing music for films on David Gordon Green’s debut feature GEORGE WASHINGTON, collaborating on the score with Michael Linnen. The movie went on to win numerous awards and was eventually released on DVD by the Criterion Collection. Wingo and Linnen collaborated again on Green’s Sundance Award-winning follow-up ALL THE REAL GIRLS and since that time Wingo has worked with Green on a majority of his films. His score for the Jeff Nichols film TAKE SHELTER, which won the Grand Prix prize at the Cannes Film Festival, landed him a Discovery Of The Year Award nomination at the World Soundtrack Awards. In 2013 Wingo scored Nichols’ MUD, which was released to worldwide acclaim and went on to be the breakout indie hit of the year. The last couple of years have been his busiest yet and have included Nichols’ studio debut MIDNIGHT SPECIAL as well as his widely acclaimed, Academy Award-nominated feature LOVING. Wingo is currently working on his first television show, providing the score for Bill Hader’s new HBO series BARRY. He has also been active with his band Ola Podrida since 2006, releasing three critically-acclaimed albums and placing songs in numerous films and TV series, including multiple episodes of HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER and NURSE JACKIE.

“We knew that a lot of the heavy lifting music-wise was going to be in the first 15 minutes when he’s still down in the bunker,” Wingo explained. “There’s score running throughout much of that section and it was really important to capture the loneliness and melancholy of James’ life and to help the audience immediately identify with him even though it hasn’t been revealed what is actually going on with him. The ultimate goal was to make the section feel emotionally grounded even though it’s not revealing to the audience what this upside-down world is all about.”


[madmimi id=2]
Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.
Subscribe and Follow:

Related Articles