The Promise Soundtrack: Score by Gabriel Yared Coming Soon, See Chris Cornell Perform The Title Song on Jimmy Fallon

The Promise (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) - Gabriel Yared

Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack to The Promise, starring Golden Globe® Winner Oscar Isaac (Ex Machina, Drive), Charlotte LeBon (Anthropoid, Yves Saint Laurent) and Academy Award® Winner Christian Bale (The Big Short, The Fighter).  The soundtrack will be released digitally on April 21 and on CD June 2, 2017.  

The album features the film’s original score by Academy Award®-winning composer Gabriel Yared (The English Patient, A Royal Affair), with the original song “The Promise” written and performed by Multi-Grammy® Award-winning and Golden Globe® nominated singer/songwriter Chris Cornell, and an exclusive version of the Armenian folk song “Sari Siroun Yar” by Grammy Award®-Winner Serj Tankian performing with the Authentic Light Orchestra (feat. Veronika Stalder).

See Chris Cornell (with Soundgarden bandmate Matt Cameron) perform “The Promise” on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon Wednesday night, April 19 on NBC (check local listings).  More film details and track list below.


Open Road Films presents THE PROMISE in theatres on April 21, 2017 (get tickets).

Track List
01. Voyage to Constantinople – Gabriel Yared
02. Kach Nazar’s Dance (Kotchari) [Traditional] – Ara Malikian
03. Promenade – Gabriel Yared
04. Ana Invites Michael – Gabriel Yared
05. Exodus – Gabriel Yared
06. Gohanamk – Liparit Avetisyan & The Hover Choir
07. Labor Camp – Gabriel Yared
08. Way Home – Gabriel Yared
09. Ana and Michael – Gabriel Yared
10. Confession – Gabriel Yared
11. Leaving Refugee Camp – Gabriel Yared
12. Massacre – Gabriel Yared
13. Going up the Mountain – Gabriel Yared
14. Ana Comforts Michael – Gabriel Yared
15. Mourning – Gabriel Yared
16. Sari Siroun Yar – Serj Tankian and the Authentic Light Orchestra (feat. Veronika Stalder)
17. The Promise – Chris Cornell

It is 1914. As the Great War looms, the vast Ottoman Empire is crumbling. Constantinople (Istanbul), its once vibrant, multicultural capital is about to be consumed by chaos. Michael Boghosian (Oscar Isaac), arrives in the cosmopolitan hub as a medical student determined to bring modern medicine back to Siroun, his ancestral village in Southern Turkey where Turkish Muslims and Armenian Christians have lived side by side for centuries.

Photo-journalist Chris Myers (Christian Bale), has come here only partly to cover geo-politics. He is mesmerized by his love for Ana (Charlotte le Bon), an Armenian artist he has accompanied from Paris after the sudden death of her father. When Michael meets Ana, their shared Armenian heritage sparks an attraction that explodes into a romantic rivalry between the two men even as Michael hangs on to a promise from his past. After the Turks join the war on the German side, the Empire turns violently against its own ethnic minorities. Despite their conflicts, everyone must find a way to survive — even as monumental events envelope their lives.

“I was born in Lebanon, and during my childhood all my friends, musicians and artists were Armenian. It was a great treat to work with Terry George on such a delicate and essential topic,” said Yared.

“If it’s something you or your family members went through, it’s something you’re faced with confronting on a daily basis,” said Cornell.

Oscar-winning composer Gabriel Yared is one of the most well respected and renowned composers in film. Most notably, Yared won an Academy Award for his score to Anthony Minghella’s THE ENGLISH PATIENT, which also won him a BAFTA, Golden Globe and Grammy Award. Born in Beirut, Yared was originally known for his work in French cinema, starting with Jean-Luc Godard, and later composed the score for Betty Blue, directed by Jean-Jacques Beineix. He also composed ballet music for works such as CLAVIGO for The Paris Opera, and Wayne McGregor’s RAVEN GIRL for the Royal Opera Ballet. More recently, he scored Xavier Dolan’s sixth feature film, JUSTE LA FIN DU MONDE (IT’S ONLY THE END OF THE WORLD), which won the Grand Prix at Cannes Film Festival in 2016. He is currently working on the score for Dolan’s next film, THE DEATH AND LIFE OF JOHN F. DONOVAN, starring Jessica Chastain, Kit Harington, Susan Sarandon, Kathy Bates, and Michael Gambon.

The Promise Key Art (Oscar Isaac, Christian Bale, Charlotte LeBon)
 [madmimi id=2]
Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.
Subscribe and Follow: