The Vigil: Michael Yezerski Releases His Score To The Supernatural Thriller! Film Now in Theaters and On Demand

The Vigil - Michael Yezerski | Lakeshore Records

Lakeshore Records has released The Vigil (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) – music by Michael Yezerski (The Tax Collector, Blindspotting).  The soundtrack releases alongside the U.S. theatrical debut of the horror film, now in theaters and on demand from IFC Midnight.

Soundtrack Available Now: [Dowload/Listen]

Track List

01. Tefillin
02. The Ghost, Pt. 1
03. The Ghost, Pt. 2
04. Past
05. Lair
06. Broken by Memories
07. Video Games
08. Behind You
09. Face to Face
10. Begin The Vigil
11. Ner
12. Echo
13. Sunlight


Speaking about the philosophy behind the score, Yezerski said, “As [director] Keith Thomas and I discussed, music is memory. We associate music with the best and the worst times in our lives. For The Vigil we needed to create a score that explored the malevolence of memory (both personal and cultural).” Yezerski went on further to note, “We needed massive textures that could read as both beautiful and brutal. The music attacks but also meditates on long and difficult lives. After all, what is the greater horror at play here – the supernatural or our lived reality?”

Steeped in ancient Jewish lore and demonology, The Vigil is a supernatural horror film set over the course of a single evening in Brooklyn’s Hasidic Borough Park neighborhood. Low on funds and having recently left his insular religious community, Yakov reluctantly accepts an offer from his former rabbi and confidante to take on the responsibility of an overnight “shomer,” fulfilling the Jewish practice of watching over the body of a deceased community member. Shortly after arriving at the recently departed’s dilapidated house to sit the vigil, Yakov begins to realize that something is very, very wrong.

Michael Yezerski’s musical works are highly evocative, original and diverse.
From the symphonic grittiness of David Ayer’s THE TAX COLLECTOR to the quiet drama of BLINDSPOTTING; from the avant-garde horror drones of THE DEVIL’S CANDY to the heartfelt FEEL THE BEAT and THE BLACK BALLOON; Michael brings a signature musical intensity to every project he takes on.

Recent projects include the hit international series MR INBETWEEN, Keith Thomas’ wondrously terrifying THE VIGIL and the Stephen Dorff starrer DEPUTY for FOX / Cedar Park.

Earlier career highlights include HBO’s ONLY THE DEAD SEE THE END OF WAR, his first feature film THE BLACK BALLOON (winner of 8 AFI/AACTA Awards including Best Picture), PJ Hogan’s MENTAL, WOLF CREEK SERIES 2, CATCHING MILAT, PETER ALLEN, the Academy Award winning animated short, THE LOST THING and his collaboration with the Australian Chamber Orchestra, THE RED TREE.

Michael works from Los Angeles and Sydney.

Watch The Vigil in select theaters (find a theater) and On Demand now.


Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow:

One thought on “The Vigil: Michael Yezerski Releases His Score To The Supernatural Thriller! Film Now in Theaters and On Demand”

Comments are closed.