Deutschland 89 Original Series Score By Reinhold Heil Releases Digitally!

Deutschland 89 - Reinhold Heil | Lakeshore Records

Lakeshore Records has released the soundtrack to Deutschland 89, featuring the series score by Golden Globe-nominated Composer, Reinhold Heil (Berlin Station, Deadwood, Helix).  The -track album is available now digitally on all major music services.  See the album tracklist and listening links below.

Lakeshore’s previous release with Reinhold is to Berlin Station, among others.

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Listen]

Track List
01. Smash That Phone
02. Reading The Draft
03. Poison Coffee
04. Nina Sneaks Again
05. A Collapsing Nation
06. The Russians Are Coming
07. Help Max
08. Blowing Chunks
09. Crowd Surfing
10. Bitte Bitte Bitte Bitte BITTE
11. Broken Antenna
12. Delivering The Weapons
13. Not So Fast
14. Gotta Do What We Gotta Do
15. He Really Hurt Me
16. What Do You Mean 20k?
17. Rilke
18. Execution
19. Oh Tina
20. Did You Warn Her?
21. Recruiting Rose
22. Nicole Finds Annett
23. Heading To The Roof
24. Shooting To Not Kill
25. On A Good Path
26. Funeral
27. Hello And Goodbye
28. FEEL (Nicole’s Theme from Deutschland ’89) (feat. Fiora)




When the “anti-fascist” Berlin Wall falls on November 9th, 1989, superspy Martin Rauch (Jonas Nay) gets involved and must deal with the consequences. The peaceful revolution has thrown his world into turmoil. He and his fellow agents at the HVA (East German Foreign Intelligence) are reeling. Their government has collapsed, their organization is in chaos and their futures are uncertain, at best. How to play the next hand? Join Big Brother at the KGB? Go West and work for an enemy agency? Use international contacts to begin a new career? Or run off to paradise with hoarded gold? Our heroes need to reinvent themselves in the face of a new world order.

Says Heil: “’Deutschland 89’ goes out the way the ‘Deutschland’ series should: with a bang!  It was a privilege to re-live history and support creators Jörg and Anna Winger in telling their captivating story of a divided Germany coming together through the storylines of their characters. Don’t forget to check out the song “Feel” at the end of the album. It’s based on the love theme from Deutschland 89 and is beautifully performed by Fiora. Enjoy!”

Golden Globe-nominated composer Reinhold Heil draws on his eclectic background in classical music, rock, and electronica to challenge the boundaries of contemporary film and television scoring. A multi-instrumentalist with a broad musical range, Reinhold first came to prominence as the keyboarder, co-producer, and co-writer of the legendary German punk band, the Nina Hagen Band, and later Spliff, one of the most popular German rock bands of the 1980s.

Reinhold’s career as a film composer began with the propulsive electronic score to Tom Tykwer’s international art house sensation, Run Lola Run. The score was widely emulated and is considered to be a seminal electronic soundtrack that ushered in a new era in electronic film scoring. Reinhold’s synergistic collaboration with Tykwer continued for more than a dozen years on such films as The Princess and the Warrior, Perfume: The Story of a Murderer, The International, Paris, Je t’aime, Three, and Cloud Atlas, which received a Golden Globe nomination for best score.

Experimentation is integral to Reinhold’s creative process, as is a passionately hands-on approach to creative sound design, music production, mixing, and engineering. His distinctive musical signature is characterized by harmonic complexity, emotional resonance, unconventional chord progressions, and unique hybrid soundscapes, all of which are employed to maximally support the story’s narrative and the protagonists’ emotional worlds.
For television, Reinhold has written scores for Deadwood, Helix, Legends and Berlin Station, among others. He has also contributed additional music to Mr. Robot, seasons 3 and 4, as well as Sense8, Babylon Berlin, and the HBO documentary series The Vow.

Reinhold’s score for the widely acclaimed series Deutschland 83, Deutschland 86, and the final season, Deutschland 89, which released in the fall of 2020, was awarded the prestigious German award The Grimme Preis. The series has won numerous awards, including the Peabody and the International Emmy.

In the US, Deutschland 89 premiered October 2020 on the Sundance Channel.

Reinhold’s musical persona, Jkyll, has been raising his quirky head recently. Jkyll created a string quartet mash-up of the East and West German national anthems (by Josef Haydn and Hanns Eissler, respectively) with a touch of the anthem of the European Union (from Beethoven’s 9th Symphony). It is a political and humanistic statement for Reinhold’s desire for unity and peace in his distant homeland, where conspiracy theorists and Neo Nazis have risen in prominence like they have in many other countries. It’s a timely and fitting birthday present for the 30th anniversary of the reunification of Germany (Germany was reunified on October 3, 1990.) This not-for-profit production can be freely shared as long as no monetization occurs. The rights to the East German anthem still belong to the descendants of Hanns Eisler, who’s œvre is not copyright-free.

Jkyll will from now on be releasing his own works. Mr. Heil has been trying to fend him off for quite some time, but as is often the case with severe split personalities, hasn’t been able to keep him under control.


Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.

Subscribe and Follow: